Sample menu:

this page last updated:

2012-01-09 14:45 PM

A Ride to Preserve History

Join us on Saturday, March 24, 2012, in the Texas Hill Country for a ride already touted as "an iconic Texas ride." We've seen rapid growth: 1130 riders enjoyed the ride and post-ride festivities in 2011.

Starting and ending on the famed LBJ Ranch, the routes take riders under majestic live oaks, past historical landmarks that figured prominently not only in the Johnson family history, but also in U.S. presidential history. See the descendants of President Johnson's famed Hereford cattle herd as you exit the Ranch. Thereafter, it's on to spectacular Hill Country cycling – on smooth-surfaced ranch-market roads and bucolic country lanes that will take you back in time. Visit rural, historic Gillespie County schools that do duty as rest stops on this scenic tour. This is truly a "Ride to Preserve History."

An added 85-mile route will provide new challenges while we continue the existing 62, 42, 30, and 10-mile routes. With a 9:00 AM staggered start, all routes start/end on the LBJ Ranch air strip.

We want all levels of riders to come out and make it a family event.

Following the ride, enjoy a delicious meal, hang with friends and fellow cyclists in the expansive food tent, and visit some of the vendor booths we'll have, located next to the food area.

At 2:30 PM, don't miss the Luci Baines Johnson-led tour of the historical landmarks on the Ranch. This look at the Johnson family legacy is included in the main rider registration fee - or you can register for this tour only - cost is the same. Hear Presidential history from someone who lived it! In addition, take a Ranger-led tour of the restored rooms in the Texas White House – also included for registered riders.

Our 36th President loved his ranch. He often conducted presidential business under the spreading oak trees, and he sought solace here from the rigors of the presidency.

As President Johnson told visitors to his beloved Hill Country ranch, "All the world is welcome here!" We want riders in the 5th Annual LBJ 100 Bicycle Tour to feel the same warm welcome and sense of Presidential history as those who came before them.

The tour is sponsored by the Friends of LBJ National Historical Park, the Hill Country Bicycle Touring Club, the National Park Service, and the Western National Parks Association. All net proceeds from the tour will go to the betterment of the Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park.

About the Hill Country Bicycle Touring Club

The Hill Country Bicycle Touring Club is a recreational organization for cyclists of all abilities. Most of our rides are leader-led where we stay together in groups.

About the Friends of Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park

The Friends of Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park work in partnership with the National Park Service to provide educational and interpretive programs, conduct research, and accomplish conservation, planning, and improvement projects for the benefit of the LBJ National Historical Park.

About the LBJ State Park & Historic Site

This popular park is nestled along the banks of the Pedernales River, on the opposite side of the river from the LBJ National Historical Park, in the beautiful Texas Hill Country. This park also honors the 36th President of the United States and the influence he had on rural America.  Visitors will experience bison, white-tailed deer, and Texas Longhorn cattle pastured within sight along the back roads of the park. The park offers a number of outdoor activities including fishing in the Pedernales River, bird watching, nature trails, and wildlife photography.

The Sauer-Beckmann Living History Farm, also located at LBJ State Park, recreates Hill Country farm life as it would have appeared at the turn of the 20th century. Daily demonstrations include milking cows, gathering eggs, cooking on a wood-burning stove and tending livestock, all done by staff in period clothing.  Visitors will enjoy touring the kitchen, Victorian house, historic cabin and all the sights and sounds of a working farm.

Please visit www.tpwd.state.tx.us for more information or call 830-644-2252.  

About the historic schools incorporated in the routes

Cave Creek School was built in 1881 and consolidated in 1950. Many students rode horses, some rode donkeys or mules or walked barefooted to school during all kinds od weather. Saddles were stored in the saddle shed, and the animals stayed in the schoolyard until school was dismissed. For more information, click here.

Willow City School was built in 1905 and consolidated in 1961. Some students brought lunch in half-pint jars with their names carved on the lids. At other schools students used lard or molasses buckets with a wire handle, white flour bags, or later even lunch boxes. For more information, click here.

Nebgen School was built in 1936 and consolidated in 1949. It is one of four schools that has a pavilion and stage. It was used for "school closings", a community activity celebrating the end of the school year. For more information, click here.